Poetry
Leave a Comment

Love and Loss a Poem


images-1

This is a contribution to my blog from Gill Mac Donald for she is working on a compilation of poems with the theme of love and loss.
She very kindly let me have this one as a taster. Please do comment.

The Scent of You

Already it’s that time of year
When the jasmine,
A tangle of feathered green leaves
Starred with tiny white flowers,
Is coming into bloom.

And my favourite,
The honeysuckle,
Medieval pink trumpets
With a circlet of gold,
Spicy, fragrant and old

It was the scent
Of jasmine you loved,
Sweet and sharp as a knife
You said it drove you wild,
The smell of love, the smell of life.

I don’t know about god
Or if there’s such a place as heaven,
But what I see is your jasmine
And my honeysuckle,
Intertwined.

And here as the sunlight fades
Beneath it I sit,
Me, the dog and ratty old cat,
Smelling jasmine
And the unforgettable scent of you.

GEM July 2009

This entry was posted in: Poetry

by

Christina Eberhart is an artist and curator based in London. This blog was created in order share my passion for the arts and creativity and to give my friends a glimpse into what I think is good and why.

Leave a Reply

